Sarah Certa with first-day-of-school musings on motherhood and a lovely poem for her daughter, Evelyn: “…oh / tiny dragon, forgive me, it was me / who woke you, it was me who fed you first.” ❤

SarahCerta

dsc_0613-2

This morning I dropped my daughter off for her first day of second grade, and, like every year on the first day of school, I’ve spent the morning steeped deep in my emotions about motherhood, & growth, wondering how it is that this child slipped from the stars down through me & into this life.

Looking at her is like looking up.

dsc_0921

Motherhood is the most challenging realm of life on Earth that I have yet encountered. It scares the hell out of me. Is there anything more intimate, more astonishing, more terrifying, than growing a human body inside you & then spending the rest of your life watching it take form outside of you, a part of you yet apart from you? Talk about balance! I still haven’t got it figured out, except to say that maybe children are here to teach us there is nothing to “figure out” –…

View original post 508 more words

