Check out this piece by Kara Post-Kennedy on being mothered by “a coven” of good witches and bad. It reminded me so much of my own childhood, how much time I spent with three grandmothers who I came to think of (then, now, and once, in a poem) as my “three fairy godmothers”–each with her own distinctive way of showing me what it means to be a woman, for better and for worse.

Open Thought Vortex

Memories of My Grandmothers

Growing up, the classic line from The Wizard of Oz when Glinda asks Dorothy “Are you a good witch, or a bad witch?” made perfect sense to me. From my very earliest memories I was always surrounded by formidable women, women of vast and mysterious powers, some of them very good and some of them rather frightening. Most of the women I was raised by and around had astonishing strength, talents, tenacity and seemingly endless energy; in so many ways I do not live within a mile of the standards they set. And while I mourn this a little, I am grateful that I grew up knowing without a shadow of a doubt that women CAN (and frequently have to) do ANYTHING and EVERYTHING.

The “good witches” in my life are too numerous to count, but include my own mother, her best friend, and so many…

View original post 1,214 more words

